Silencers are LEGAL
in 42 States

8 states currently do not allow individuals to own silencers: California, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Massachussetts, New York, New Jersey, and Rhode Island.

*If you are an FFL dealer, manufacturer, peace officer, or member of a law enforcement agency or other government agency, there are additional states where you can own a silencer.



  • Reside in one of the 42 states that currently allow civilian ownership
  • Be a resident of the United States
  • Be legally eligible to purchase a firearm
  • Pass a BATFE background check
  • Be at least 21 years of age to purchase from a dealer
  • Be at least 18 years of age to purchase from another citizen



Purchase A Silencer

Choosing a silencer can be a daunting task, but once you have identified the one that’s right for you based on caliber, fit, and function, we work hard to make the process as easy as possible for you.



Depends On Whether You Are Local
To Eastern Idaho Or Not


We will help you file the required forms to obtain your tax stamp. For online purchases, we will contact you via phone to set up a time to complete the forms. In-person purchases can be scheduled by calling (208) 516-9193.


We will contact the Class 3 dealer you’ve chosen and arrange to have the silencer you purchased transferred to them. They will help you fill out the required forms to obtain your tax stamp. (Please be aware that some Class 3 dealers charge fees for transfers and for filling out the forms, so please check with them so that you understand what fees they may charge.)



Fill Out the Required Forms

Whether you work with us or with a Class 3 dealer of your choosing, owning a silencer requires that you file a Form 4 with the ATF. This form requires some personal information as well as the following items:

  • $200 for tax stamp payable to the ATF by credit card

  • 2 FD-258 fingerprint cards completed with your prints

  • 2 photos of yourself Passport style — 2×2 inches

The Form 4 can now be filed electronically with an approximate wait time of 90 days.




Wait for Approval from the ATF

Waiting for the ATF to approve your application can be the hardest part of this process—who likes to wait? Now that the form can be filed electronically, the ATF estimates the wait time to be 90 days.



Pick Up Your Silencer

Once your application has been approved, your FFL will contact you about picking up your silencer. Your FFL will have you complete a Form 4473, which is a standard ATF form for transferring firearms. Once this form is completed, your FFL can legally transfer the silencer to you along with your tax stamp, which you will need to keep in a safe place. We recommend making a digital copy on your phone so that you have it with you when you go shooting.


Silencer Work?

  1. A silencer captures the pressure released out of the end of the barrel and slows down the escaping gases. The more we can slow down the release of that pressure the more we can quiet down the process.
  2. Since a silencer is capturing the explosion of pressure, gas, and fire out of the end of the barrel and slowing the process down, the unburned gunpowder and gases will burn out inside the silencer. In most cases the muzzle flash is completely eliminated.
  3. The recoil is the “kick” that you receive when firing a gun. That kick is greatly reduced when the explosion of gases released from the gun barrel is slowed down by the silencer. Mission silencers reduce the recoil by 50%.